Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

 

When you go to the symphony, as you search for your seats, you are bombarded by the squeaks, squawks and screeches of the orchestra warming up. Each instrument has its own warm-up needs, and each player has their unique warm-up routine. It can be horrible to hear if you don’t know what you’re listening to.

When the conductor steps onto the stage, all the individual playing stops, and the First Chair stands up to give a “Concert A.” The rest of the orchestra listens, then adjusts themselves to fit the “A” that was given. Each musician is responsible for tuning his own instrument. The conductor will then have the entire orchestra play “Concert A” together and point to anyone who is still out of tune, helping him or her adjust as needed.

Perhaps the most fundamental thing to learn as a musician is how to keep your instrument in tune with the rest of the band. It doesn’t matter how well you can play – how quickly, how cleanly, how technically precise, how emotionally moving – if you can’t keep your instrument in tune, you’re of no use to an orchestra.

So it is with the Body of Christ. We are one Body and members in particular. Each member is responsible for fine-tuning themselves, or as Bishop Tony Miller calls it: Self Adjustment. If a trumpet player is starting to go sharp somewhere into the second movement of the symphony, the conductor cannot stop and correct him. He has to know how to listen to the whole orchestra and correct himself.

The key to becoming a leader in your team is that you don’t wait for your leader/overseer to evaluate and correct you; you correct yourself. How? I’m glad you asked!

1) Self-evaluation
a. Pay attention to the team that’s around you – Am I saying what they’re saying? Am I doing what they’re doing? Is my attitude different from theirs? Why?
b. Pay attention to yourself – Am I fulfilled in what I’m doing? Am I satisfied with the work I’m doing on my team? Do I feel used, neglected or abandoned? Why?
2) Self-correction
a. Realize that if the pain is in you, the problem is in you – In my evaluation of myself, I realized that I’ve lost some of my passion and it’s because I feel like I’m not fulfilled in what I’m doing.
3) Self-adjustment
a. Make a plan and follow it through – I need to talk to my leader about how I’m feeling. I’ll set up a meeting and write down the specific things I need to talk about so I don’t forget anything.

Many of us at our church have learned how to do step one. We’ve learned to use the people around us as indicators of where we are. I think where we fall short is on Step Two. We don’t usually want to admit that we are the problem and that we need to change. We think we are in tune and that everyone else should adjust to match us.

Everyone sounds great when playing alone. You never know you’re out of tune until you play with someone else. That’s why we are a Body, to help each other become better than we are alone. When each person realizes they have the “ability” to “respond” (responsibility) to self-evaluation, self-correction and self-adjustment, then not only is the individual player better, but so is the whole band.

Leave a Reply

