Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Terrorist Attack

Ever since I was born, I’ve been living with a terrorist after me. No, I’m not schizophrenic and I am not some top-secret government experiment (although I think some might disagree!). But ever since I was born, I have been ragged, dragged, tagged and chased by a terrorist. He’s tried to stop me in every way possible!

Early on in life, it was to seduce me into self-destructive patterns that put me in relationship with the wrong people in the wrong places at the wrong times.

As I grew through those early stages, the strategy became more subtle. It was still self-destructive behaviors I was lured into, but they became more “controlled” and “acceptable”: self-sabotaging through procrastination and insecurity. He would gradually play mind games that left me paranoid and on the edge of schizophrenia.

Then, as I gradually came through that and he lost his “internal” handles one after another, his terrorist attacks became much more overt. It’s like in 24 (the TV series); at first the terrorist plot is always hidden. However, as Jack Bauer begins to uncover it and it starts to unravel, the terrorist becomes more and more overt and moves to his “endgame”. It’s at this point that he usually tends to stop the hiding and starts the blatant outright attacks.

Thus we enter the final stage of terrorism. As this terrorist of mine loses power over me, he begins to go after others around me. The truth is, he was after them all along. However, at this point he starts to turn others against me because I’m a threat. I’ve lost best friends, mentors, and have been isolated by others who once held me close. This terrorist paints me like they do “Jack” – as an extremist who operates outside the rules. Before long they are ridiculing me (overtly or covertly) and putting themselves in a place to be taken out. He’s a sneaky terrorist. He will sneak his way into your life before you know it and you’re gone… bam!

All of that being said…Satan you can still go to hell! You’re not a very good terrorist, because God always finds a way to out your plan. Come hell or high water (or snow or ice, or lost friendships, or distanced leaders, or whatever it may be)… I think it was Paul that said “For I am persuaded that neither death nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

In the end, I’m better than Jack Bauer… I win. Period!

Now, part of this article is to remind me of some things. But part of it is that you need to realize that you are dealing with a terrorist too. Where is he sneaking into your mind? He’s got a war machine; can you handle it? I bet he’s got a plot right now in your life; are you aware of it? The only thing in the world that can stop you is you. And if you can’t trust God beyond the problem, then you are leaning to yourself as the source and not God!

(First published 03.08.09)

Leave a Reply

