Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Casting all your care upon him; for he careth for you. ~1 Peter 5:7

grassDid you know God was in the lawn care business? Well, He is! Last year, I was under contract to sell my house. A friend asked me if I was going to take my wonderful Husquevarna riding lawn mower with me to Atlanta. I told him that I was not planning on needing it in Atlanta, so he offered to buy it from me. I gladly took him up on his offer. Then, not even a week later, the buyer for my home backed out of the contract. I did not move to Atlanta, but now had an acre of land to mow with no mower.

Originally I found a local man who would come by and mow my lawn for a fee. That worked for a while, but this year I simply could not afford his service or the cost of a new lawn mower. So, as you may have guessed, my lawn grew, and grew. One day, I had a novel thought. Since God is my provider, why don’t I simply ask Him for a mowed lawn? So I did. Each time I pulled up into my yard to see the jungle that awaited, I thanked God for my lawn being mowed. A couple weeks later, a friend of mine from Athens called and asked if I would come trim her pig’s hooves. I was glad to oblige and went over one Saturday afternoon. After some sedation, pig wrestling, and lots of squealing, we sat down to relax and my friend asked me what she owed me. I told her that she didn’t owe me anything. At that point, her husband came up and asked, “How about if I come mow your lawn?” DING, DING, DING!!! Hello, God!

When I least expected it, God showed up and made a way to mow my lawn! Within the week, I came home to find a beautifully cut lawn. God is truly faithful, and the more we can trust Him with the little things of life, the more we’ll be able to trust Him in the bigger things. So be encouraged and remember to exercise your faith in the little things. Because once you see that He can mow your lawn, it’s easier to believe for a working lawn mower! I know that’s on it’s way, too!

(First published 09.13.09)

Leave a Reply

