Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

What are you waiting for?

And, behold, there was a man in Jerusalem, whose name [was] Simeon; and the same man [was] just and devout, waiting for the consolation of Israel: and the Holy Ghost was upon him. – Luke 2:25

Waiting. Waiting. Waiting.

“I’m just waiting on You, Lord. I’m waiting for You to show up in my life. I’m waiting for You to heal me. I’m waiting for Your peace. I’m waiting for You to bless my finances. I’m waiting for You to restore my relationships. I’m waiting on You to provide all my need. I’m waiting, waiting, waiting patiently, Lord. Can You hear me, Lord? Can You see me here, waiting for You?”

Sound familiar? Of course it does. The lingo of every “good” Christian includes one or more of those statements. Have you ever wondered why you’re waiting so long? You should ask yourself the same question God would ask you:

WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?

In the Book of Luke, we find the account of a devout man, Simeon, who was waiting for the manifestation of God’s salvation in the earth. He had a prophetic word from God telling him he would see God’s plan come to fruition in his lifetime.  So, he waited. He waited until the Christ manifested…and then he quit waiting.

Lord, now lettest thou thy servant depart in peace, according to thy word: For mine eyes have seen thy salvation, Which thou hast prepared before the face of all people; A light to lighten the Gentiles, and the glory of thy people Israel. – Luke 2:29-32

Simeon had the sense to quit waiting on God’s promise once it was fulfilled. Many of his countrymen and kinsfolk are still waiting today. The Jews acknowledge Jesus was real, that He was a mighty prophet of God, and that He lived and died here on the earth. But they are still waiting on the promise….still waiting on The Christ, even though He has already come.

We’ll look more at this tomorrow… in the meantime, ask yourself this: What are you “waiting for God” to do in your life?

~Linda Frederick

Leave a Reply

