Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Has God ever done anything good for you? I mean really…has GOD ever done ANYTHING good for YOU?

Now, I know you want to say, “Well yes, He gave me a born again spirit and made me His child,” or some rehearsed answer like that. C’mon…dig down past the answer you think others want to hear and think about the miracles, big and small, that He has done in your life.

One night not long ago, I forgot my checkbook when I went to church, only to find when I got there that it was the last night to purchase tickets for a special dinner I wanted to attend. Not only that, but I had it in my heart to give a certain amount to the visiting ministers for their work in Honduras. At first, I was frustrated with myself for having forgotten to bring my money. As I walked through the sanctuary before church, I put my hands in my back pockets and there…you guessed it…was the exact amount I needed (in cash!) to buy my dinner tickets and give the man of God what I had wanted to give. I do not remember putting that money in my pocket and don’t know when I did it!

Now you can look at that two ways. You could say, “Well, that’s just a coincidence. Things like that are not really God, that’s just part of life.” Or you could rejoice and say, “God knew my heart and my need and He met it. Praise God for His provision!” Honestly, I almost missed it. I nearly passed it off as just a happy coincidence and went on my way. But my spirit spoke up loud and clear and said, “Rejoice! Your God loves you enough to prepare for your own forgetfulness!” So, I did just that: I rejoiced in my God and thanked Him for the little things He is so faithful to do for me.

We begin to be discouraged when things don’t seem to be going right for us, and it appears that Murphy’s Law is in full operation in our lives. When we get down, we overlook small blessings. Instead, we wait around for the big miracles and become cynical when they do not appear. That big miracle you’re waiting around for will not manifest in your life until you learn to rejoice in the small things – until you learn to rejoice even in adversity. We must do as James commands: “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.” In other words, we must learn to say, “Hallelujah, anyhow!”

In Matthew 25, the master rewards the servant who is faithful in the little things and makes him ruler over much. Rejoicing over small miracles in our lives readies us to be able to see and experience the greater miracles. So, stir yourselves up today! Call to your remembrance the goodness of your God. Think about every small way He has proven Himself faithful, loving, and merciful to you. Praise Him for all the miracles He has performed in your life, big and small. He has delivered you from the bear and the lion, and He will give this present enemy into your hands!

So, I ask you again: Has GOD ever done ANYTHING good for YOU?

Then REJOICE!

~Linda Frederick

Leave a Reply

