Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Idols

How many of us have said that we do not have time to read, pray, or meditate the Word but we find the time to spend hours on Facebook games or chatting with others? I know I did. At the beginning of Seeking Time, I began to ask myself things like, “Why is it so important to play the games? What is the point? How is this helping me to change and establish the Kingdom? What could I be doing that could change my life or someone else’s?” Maybe it is not Facebook but something else that monopolizes your time. These things actually become our idols and God’s Word speaks specifically about having other idols before Him. He is a jealous God, and He will not have it! We can fool ourselves but we can never fool God. You can rationalize why you are doing what you are doing and why you are where you are but the bottom line is that you made the choice to do something besides spend your time seeking Him. I know I had made some wrong choices that sapped the power out of my spiritual walk. I am where I am today because of the choices that I have made; some were good and others not so good. But with Seeking Time here, I have had time to recognize that today is a new day. My goals have changed and my choices to seek God will produce something different this coming year.  Some of the changes may be painful for me (it isn’t always easy to put off those “timewasters” and start spending my time more productively), but with the pain of pruning comes growth. Everyone has a choice of who he or she will become and where he or she goes in life. God is not going to force His will on you. He wants you to choose to come to Him, and to embrace His Word and His unconditional love for you. The choice is yours. What will you choose today, your idols or God? I know what I am choosing!

by Ronda Sullivan

Leave a Reply

