Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

The Sword in the Stone

During this seeking time, one of the images I’ve been reminded of comes from the old Disney movie, “The Sword and the Stone”. The movie is about a young pauper boy who forgot to bring his master’s sword for a tournament. One of his friends notices a sword stuck in rock within a church yard. The young lad goes over and removes the sword without much difficulty. He didn’t know the prophecy about the sword – that whoever was able to remove it from the rock, would be the King of England. The other men recognized the sword and couldn’t believe it. So the young lad placed the sword back in the stone for someone else to remove it, but none of the other men could budge it. Only the boy, the rightful future king, was able to remove the sword… and that’s the birth of King Arthur!

I don’t know about you, but I have run upon a stone in my life during this year’s time of fasting and seeking. I have been like the men who were unable to remove the kingly sword (which in my case is God’s Word) from the stone. I cannot remember a time when I have had such a struggle and war to actually sit down and read the Bible on a regular basis. The situation is very frustrating for me. I intend to read the Word, but find myself being pulled away by other desires.

So, I’ve been asking myself, «What is it in me that is fighting so hard against getting into the Word?» Right now, I still do not know. But what I do know is this: if I will keep fasting, praying and worshipping, then whatever I’m fighting against will be revealed and destroyed, because, unlike the men in the story, I know I’m a king and the sword belongs to me!

So, if you too are struggling with an aspect of your walk with God in this seeking time, don’t give up! Our God is a good God and a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him. So be encouraged, and never forget that the Sword belongs to you! Don’t settle for the stones of your life keeping it from you. I’m not!

By Dr. Matt

Comments on: "The Sword in the Stone" (3)

  1. Lupe Solis said:

    This picture you posted of the sword in the stone with the blue lightening is it under copyright law or can it be used?

    • The Celebration said:

      Lupe, I am not sure of the original source of the image. Wikipedia has used it and several other bloggers also. I am not sure if it is copyrighted.

  2. […] The Sword in the Stone (5,233 views) […]

Leave a Reply

