Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Let’s Go This Way…

When I first started The Celebration blog site, I had no intention of it becoming a place for me to blog my personal thoughts, ponderings or rants like most other blog sites out there. I have a huge backlog of articles written by our Celebration team and I knew they would be of value to readers “out there” in cyberspace, so I began to post them up. It’s amazing how quickly you can run through three and a half years of articles if you’re posting several times a week! We’re down to the end of our archived articles…so now what??? Do I just wait until I have new articles from the publications team and post only weekly? Or do I step out there and make it a point to post the things I think about on a day-to-day basis? Hmmm….

I’m not a “run and jump” kind of person. As a matter of fact, for me to act suddenly or impulsively in a situation is so unusual I just about have to attribute it to Divine intervention. So, in keeping with my contemplative nature, I’ve been thinking…

… about this blog and whether or not I am willing to take it on as my own, in addition to maintaining it as a posting place for our Celebration team… about the reasons I’m reluctant to do so…about my level of commitment to the purpose of this blog site….about the way we can have an impact on the lives of so many others when they invite us in through media…about how much I despise sites where bitter people ramble along in their personal diatribe…about those who veil their thoughts behind glitzy metaphorical postings and call it literary genius instead of admitting to cowardice for not saying what they mean and meaning what they say…lots to think about.

All that mulling things over has given me only this… I’ve aspired to be a writer my entire life. I love to write, but I don’t necessarily love to have people read what I’ve written. Writing for the public eye requires a certain amount of self exposure that I’m not entirely comfortable with, even now. On the other hand, I believe writing to be part of my divine design…part of the supply I add to the Body of Christ. It’s just easier to stay behind the scenes as an editor and post other people’s material than it is to be responsible for posting content on your own… but, in addition to being a known contemplative, I’m also known for not succumbing to the easy path. I’m willing to be stretched outside of my comfort zone… I just have to think about the reasons for taking the more difficult route and decide for certain it is worth it before stepping onto it. That way, when I step I know for certain I will continue the journey. It’s a serious commitment for me during a time in my life when I already feel seriously over-committed!!

But, here we are… and this is the way in which we shall go. I’ll continue to post things from the team as they come in (and if they’re not already posted on team members’ blog sites), but I’ll also open this up to be more of a conversation… more of an introspection… more of a place for me to share my own heart with all the thousands of dear readers we have met over the last year. I hope you continue to take this journey with us… with me. Who knows what we shall find?

~Linda

Comments on: "Let’s Go This Way…" (1)

  1. Woo hoo!!!! I’ve been waiting for this day.

    I look forward to hearing more from your heart my Lind-friend!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

