Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

So, you made a decision to give up something for Seeking Time. Or maybe you made a New Year’s resolution. You know the drill: “I’m going to exercise every day, eat only healthy foods, and drink lots of water. I’m giving up caffeine, chocolate, and french fries. I’m going to pray and read my Bible daily, keep a good attitude at work, give up gossiping, and say only nice things to everyone. I won’t waste my time on television and Facebook, but will use that time to catch up on all of that motivational reading I’ve been wanting to do.”

So, how’s that working out for you?

Usually it only takes about 3 days before we’ve already broken our fast or at least one of our resolutions. The question is what are you going to do about it once you messed up?

It used to be that if I messed up and ate a piece of chocolate on a day I was supposed to be fasting, I would say, “Hey, this day is shot. Might as well eat a whole bunch more. I can always start over tomorrow.” Or I would miss one day of walking and say, “Well, this week is messed up. I might as well skip the rest of the week and start over next Monday.” The problem with doing that is that it gets easier and easier to keep giving in to the flesh. I mean, why do today what you can put off until tomorrow? Or next week? Or next year?

If you have already done something you said you wouldn’t or forgotten to do something you said you should, don’t give up. You didn’t mess things up, you didn’t blow it for this year, you don’t have to wait until “next time” to do it again. Just pick yourself up, dust yourself off and determine not to indulge your flesh, not to quit, and not to get under condemnation. It happens to everyone. Just decide that you are going to finish the day out strong and keep going. You can do it!

Leave a Reply

