Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Yesterday, I shared my testimony of how God delivered me from the hate I had carried concerning my mother’s death. The reason for sharing my testimony was to provide you with a context for what God is doing during this time of seeking. For you see, God has proclaimed that He is healing and restoring the land of our hearts, removing the briars and the weeds (much like He did in the vision of my testimony). So I began wondering, what is the purpose of briars, what do they do?

When I was a kid, my sisters and I use to love going out into the woods to play. However, there were some areas of the woods to which we were denied access. Why? There was a hedge of briars that had grown up. And quite frankly, the pain of trying to get through that hedge simply wasn’t worth it. We just accepted that there were some parts of the woods in which we just couldn’t play.

Sometimes we allow the spiritual briars in the gardens of our hearts to grow out of control until it’s no longer just a briar bush but a briar hedge. An impenetrable wall of pain that keeps us from going deeper into the forest of God’s love. But God has begun a new thing in this time of seeking! He has released His fire on the lands of His people and consumed the briar hedges of pain and sin that have been denying us access to the deeper things of God.

I know that for me, I have already been set free from a hedge of rejection in my life during this seeking time! However, now the hard part comes. God has supernaturally provided us with complete access to all He is by obliterating the briar hedges of our hearts. Now we must be bold and courageous as we allow the Master Gardener access to the roots of those hedges. For you see, now we have to allow the Healer to heal the land of our heart with His love.

Consider what Ephesians 3:16-19 says. “…That He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with might through His Spirit in the inner man, that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; that you, BEING ROOTED AND GROUNDED IN LOVE, may be able to comprehend with all the saints what is the width and length and depth and height—to know the love of Christ which passes knowledge; that you may be filled with all the fullness of God.”

God doesn’t just want to clear the briar patches of your life, He wants to restore the precious ground of your heart! So be strong and of good courage. Allow God access to the roots of the briars. As you do, you too will experience the miracle of love, healing, and restoration that can only come from the pierced hands of the Master Gardner.

Comments on: "Clearing the Briar Patch, part 2" (3)

  1. Dr. Matthew Randolph said:

    Thank you, Connie and Madison. I wanted to share what God’s been doing with me, as I know He too wants to do the same for others.

  2. Awesome! That was well worth sharing, my friend. May we all continue to seek God’s transformation in our lives.

  3. connie robinson said:

    Wow, awesome word! It all started in a garden with the first Adam and Jesus completed it in a garden called Gethsemane so we can walk in the “healing of the briars,” right?
    (after all, He is the rose of sharon!)

Leave a Reply

