Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

A Hairy Situation

I was riding in the car with my fiancé last Sunday night, and we were talking about that night’s service. As we chatted, he told me he was noticing how long my hair was getting. That made me feel good because I knew he liked long hair, but then he went on to tell me that I did nothing with it. Ouch! Talk about hurt! I suddenly tried to defend myself saying, “I thought you liked my long hair!” He told me that he did, but he also liked it when I fixed it in different styles.

I thought back on all my hairstyles from the past and realized he was right. I used to do a lot with my hair, but because it had gotten so long, I got tired of coming up with new things to do with it. Instead of being something fun to do, it had become a chore and a hassle. It was no fun for me anymore so I went into maintenance mode: wash, condition, dry, and straighten. Boring!

Then I began relating my hair to different areas of my life that had become a chore or a hassle to me, such as making an effort to hang out with friends, spending time with the people I care about, and doing the things I really enjoy. Where and when did my life become something that was a chore to maintain?

Then another scary thought came to mind: When did it become a hassle to spend time praying and spending time with God? When did becoming a Christian become a chore? It’s sad when we, as Christians, kick into a maintenance mode where God is concerned. We suddenly find no time for reading the bible, praying, worshiping, and praising. We may not be aware of it, but He certainly is paying attention to everything we do. He notices when we change and stop putting forth an effort, becoming lazy and slack.

God, I just want to thank You for the people You put into my life to help me become aware of things I cannot see for myself. Thank You for using the people in my life to bring light to a dark situation. Now God, I’m going to put forth more effort into getting to know You and discovering the things that please You. First thing I’m going to do is get creative with my hair! The next thing I’m going to do is spend some quality time with You!

~Elyse Brannen

Leave a Reply

