Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Seeking time 2011 officially “ended” at our church yesterday. Being the Biblical numbers oriented person I am, I can’t leave us with only 6 tips. Besides that… we all need a reminder to continue seeking God. I’ve heard more about people in other churches and other places purposing to seek God through prayer and fasting during the first 40 days of this year, which I think is awesome. It’s definitely time for the Body of Christ to humble our hearts and seek His face, repenting and turning from our ways. But, you know…. isn’t it ALWAYS time?

I don’t know about you, but I have pushed into prayer and worship very intensely many times in my life with God. My question for myself, however, is: “Why did you stop?” I have never purposely relegated my special time with God to our corporate seeking times, but it certainly has inadvertently happened. I’ve prayed, gotten clarity, received deliverance, and accepted change…. then stopped pressing only to see myself drift back into some of the same things that had snared me before. I’m pretty tired of that, actually. I don’t want my only growth in Kingdom things to happen during “seeking time.”

There is a lot to be done in this day and time. Romans 8:19-22 speaks to us of the condition this earth is in as it awaits the manifestation of the sons of God. I know that I am a child of God, but I also recognize that there are things in my soul that fight against the full manifestation of my sonship… things like pride, apathy, self-sufficiency, lack of compassion. Seeking time is a great time to allow Holy Ghost to reveal and teach concerning these things, but those things, more than likely, have not entirely disappeared from my life over the last 40 days. So, why wait until next January? Why not just go ahead and ask God to continue His work in me… to continue revealing to me the things that need  purging from my life…to continue to add His grace to my desire to be free and to be more like Him.

All I’m saying is that, although 40 days have come and gone, seeking time ain’t really over ’til it’s ALL over!!

Can I get a witness anyone??

~Linda

Comments on: "Seeking Time Survival Guide Tip #7: It ain’t over ’til it’s over!" (1)

  1. friend-girl, here is your witness, OUCH AND AMEN!!!!!

Leave a Reply

