Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Speaking To Roots

I woke up earlier than I planned Saturday morning, and I went downstairs to enjoy a very tasty breakfast.  Then an announcement was made that our family was going outside to pull up Privet that had grown up near our garden.

I was actually looking forward to working outside, so I went out and started pulling away.  I needed to work myself up before I got to the bigger plants, so I started with the itty bitty ones.  I easily used my thumb and pointer finger to pluck the baby Privet from their resting places.

Pretty soon I was an expert with the small ones, so I decided I needed something more of a challenge. I moved over to a medium-sized Privet shrub, which was taller than me with a trunk as big around as that same pointer finger that had come in so handy earlier.  I tugged.  Nothing happened…not even a budge.  I thought Come on root!  Give way!  Now! Then my mother noticed that I was having difficultly with this tree.  She said, “Here, Elyse, let me help you.”  So together we worked that shrub’s root loose.  We pulled it free and added it to our pile.  So I thought Okay, momma helped me with that tree.  Let’s see if I can do this on my own this time. Before long, I could tackle this medium sized bush all on my own, too!

Feeling pretty good about myself, I decided to tackle the biggest  Privet tree near me.  You know, the kind that has 6 trunks sticking out from its root and is twice as tall as an average adult.  I tugged to test the strength of the root.  Nothing.  I pulled.  Nothing.  I pulled harder.  Still nothing.  Come on Elyse!  You got this!  Pull! I pulled again and again.  Still this tree wouldn’t move.  I realized that this pesky tree’s roots were firmly planted.  I looked over at my brother and father as they yanked a tree this size out of the ground. They were making this thing look easy.  Darn it! If they can do it, you can do it!! Then I heard, “Elyse, do you want us to help you?”

“No,” I refused.

“You sure you don’t want us to help you?”

“NO!  I CAN do this!  I don’t need your help.”  Now, I can be pretty hard-headed at times.  I knew I wasn’t as strong as my brother or dad, but I HAD to do this on my own.

I spent 20 minutes tugging, pulling, moving the tree side to side.  Nothing happened.  I started speaking to the root saying, “You will come up!  I tell you, I will pull you free!  Come out!!!!!”  My family looked at me as if to say, “Elyse, give up and let us help you.”  I was getting a little discouraged myself, but then………. I saw something that gave me hope.  I saw the ground around the root move.  Excitement stirred in me!  I COULD do this!

After about 5 more minutes  of me working that root, it came loose.  Success!  Victory was mine!  But when I thought back on it, I realized that root didn’t budge one inch until I started speaking to it.

Suddenly, I remembered how Apostle David  taught about problems in our lives that have taken root in our soul.  By working on those Privet trees, I discovered that there are different levels of difficulty when it comes to roots.  The new problems, or the baby roots, aren’t very strongly rooted in the soil.  These are problems or challenges that haven’t been around long, but if you aren’t careful, they will become bigger quickly! If you are really tired of seeing junk in your life, then sometimes it takes starting with cleaning out little things.  This is usually easily done on your own through prayer.

Once you have the little things  cleared out, then there are bigger challenges to tackle.  Like those medium-sized Privet trees, these problems have taken  root in their surroundings.  In order to break bad habits, you have to start good ones.  Sometimes you need others to help show you how to break free from these problems through prayer.

Then there’s that pesky thing that has been growing for years and years.  It’s constantly fed by the one thing that has hurt you the most or affected you to the highest degree.  To get rid of deeply embedded problems, you have to find the roots and work them loose through your own fervent prayer and faith that God will help you through it.  Take authority over those roots.  Speak to them in faith!  Your words carry authority and power, and God is faithful to see you through and give you the victory!

What problems are in your life?  Which kind of root are they?  Whatever they are, SPEAK to those roots!  Continue to work on them; don’t give up!  You CAN do this!  God is faithful to give you the victory!

Comments on: "Speaking To Roots" (2)

  1. Barbara said:

    You have found the answer to most of our problems. Great article keep it up.

  2. […] Leave a comment I woke up earlier than I planned Saturday morning, and I went downstairs to enjoy a very tasty breakfast.  Then an announcement was made that our family was going outside to pull up Prevot that had grown up near our garden. I was actually looking forward to working outside, so I went out and started pulling away.  I needed to work myself up before I got to the bigger plants, so I started with the itty bitty ones.  I easily used my thumb and point … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

