Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Many years ago, the Lord gave our church a mandate to “go and get the children.” Ministry to children is the heartbeat of Gateway. After faithfully ministering to the needs of the children in our own community, the Lord also provided an avenue for us to minister to the children of the nations when He connected Apostle Jonas Clark with our own Apostle, David Coker.  We are so blessed to be connected with Apostle Jonas  and The Global Cause Network. His vision for ministry in Nicaragua has caused our church to extend ourselves beyond our boundaries to meet the needs of children in other nations.

The children of Casa Batesda Orphanage in Managua have captured my heart. Our visits with them have produced my most treasured moments in Nicaragua. I’m always grateful for the ministry we provide to all of the people, but I know that it is the children – the next generation – who will restore and establish the Kingdom of God to this nation. They are brave and full of hope for a better future than what they have known. They are graced with a patience that many of us never attain, as if they have embraced the truth that through faith and patience, promises are obtained.

Look on the faces of these precious children and pray for them…that they hold fast to their profession of faith, standing for their future and the future of thousands of others like them.

This beautiful child is Valeska. I thought for many years that her name was Melissa, but I finally got her to write it for me. In this photo, she is 12 years-old and in clear command of herself, garnering much esteem from the other children. She told me she wants to be a missionary when she grows up. I haven’t seen her in 3 years, and the Miami Global Cause team has told me she has moved on from Casa Batesda. I pray for her and trust the seeds that were lovingly sown into her young life will produce the harvest God desires for her. I adore this child!

x

x

x

xxxxx

Eddie, Brian, Linda, Valeska

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x Precious Rose, one of the faithful Global Cause translators, with Valeska and a little boy. Without her, I would have missed many wonderful conversations with the children.

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

The children loved taking pictures  and looking at at them in the   camera. We had so much fun!!

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

The team praying for the children.

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

The house father with some of “his” boys.

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x

x


I miss Nicaragua. It has been three years since I’ve been back and I’m sure these children have grown. Apostle David goes at least twice each year and brings us updates on the work at Casa Batesda and the ongoing work at the school we are helping to build in Masachapa. Tomorrow, I’ll tell you more about Masachapa. In the meantime, be praying for the Global Cause Network as Apostle Jonas and Apostle David prepare to go to Honduras in a few weeks. We’ll keep you updated on that trip as well!

Ask of me, and I will give thee the nations for thine inheritance, And the uttermost parts of the earth for thy possession. – Psalm 2:8

Leave a Reply

