Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Recently, I was reading about King David and the exploits he performed during his reign as king over all of Israel. As I was reading I came across the following passage:

“When David arrived at Rabbah, he removed the crown from the king’s head, and it was placed on David’s own head. The crown was made of gold and set with gems, and it weighed about seventy-five pounds. David took a vast amount of plunder from the city.” I Chronicles 20:2

Now, you might just skim over this verse and continue reading, but I was in shock! The king of Rabbah wore a crown that weighed 75 pounds!!! That kind of puts a whole new perspective on the weightiness of leadership, huh?

But what really excited me was thinking about why that crown was so heavy. If you notice, the Bible says that the crown was made of gold and set with several precious gems. Now, I don’t know how many gems would have to be placed in that crown to cause it to weigh almost 75 pounds, but I think it’s safe to say there were a lot!

So why would someone have that many gems in their crown and willingly suffer through wearing 75 pounds of crown on their head? Many of us might say the answer is vanity, but you have to admit that the sight of such a crown could not help but evoke a sense of awe and respect from all who saw it.

You see, the crown represents the power, legitimacy, authority, and dominion of the man or woman who wears it. The crown is also a representation of the glory of the ruler’s kingdom. This got me wondering: What if the gems in our crowns represent the areas in which we have conquered and established the Kingdom of God in our lives? And if this is so, how heavy would my crown be?

Unfortunately, there are parts of my life in which I used to walk in dominion, but for some reason I no longer do. This realization truly saddens me. I have laid aside the authority once given to me, taking the gems from my crown of kingdom dominion and thrown them on the ground. Did it lighten the load which I had to carry? It seemed so…for a season. But what I am now realizing is that I was created to be a king! That means bearing the weight of the King’s crown!

So I would like to challenge you to assess your own life, just like I’ve been doing. What gems of dominion and authority which you once possessed have you removed from your crown? What are new areas in your life which you need to conquer and rule as king? God is calling us as a royal priesthood to fill our crowns once again with the royal jewels of dominion and authority from every part of our lives. I want to possess all 75 pounds of dominion and authority in which God has called me to operate! So…I guess I better go wash those dishes and balance that check book, huh?

Comments on: "The Weight of Your Crown" (3)

  1. This is a beautiful article; I’m glad the Lord drew your attention to that – He’s so in the details… what beauty! Also, I hope you won’t mind me borrowing that photo (it was the only one that stood out to me in a google image search for ‘royalty’) for a slightly different article pertaining to royalty – of the same blood line I see 🙂 Blessings! (too, I plan to cite your blog 🙂 )

    • The Celebration said:

      So glad you were ministered to by the article. Thank you for giving us a citation w/ the photo. Come back and visit us again!

      Blessings…

      The C

  2. Barbara said:

    This is a very thought provoking article. Where are we walking in our dominion and authority? Have we let our crowns become to heavy for us to carry or are we becoming lazy in our assignments?

Leave a Reply

