Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen…Through faith we understand that the worlds were framed by the word of God, so that things which are seen were not made of things which do appear. ~ Hebrews 11:1/3

What is your favorite scripture? I have a lot of favorite scriptures, but my very favorite is Hebrews 11:1-3. You know, sometimes when you are in the middle of a battle and the devil is kicking you around, it’s hard to think of a single scripture for your situation. When I was being trained in the Army, they taught me to react instantly, because I would be in many life or death situations. I had to learn to do something NOW! In battle, you’re not thinking about 10 minutes ago or 10 minutes from now—you are operating in the NOW.

This scripture continues to remind me that that Christ is the only true hope I have. Through faith in Him, I understand that God framed the worlds with His words. If His words are life and He breathed life into me, then my words are life. This brings more light to Mark 11:23-24. Whatsoever I say (framing those worlds!), I shall have.

The validity of faith does not rest on the sincerity of the believer, but on the reliability of what is believed. Hebrews Chapter 11 records those who willingly took God at His word, even when there was nothing to cling to but His promises. They learned how to trust Him in those NOW moments they all faced. They learned that He was the substance of everything they hoped for.

We all have faith, but some of us walk in a greater measure. To get more, believe for more. Just the fact that you pray to and believe in a God you do not see is faith in itself! It’s like writing this article…it took a lot of faith!

Oh yeah…What’s your favorite scripture?

~Guest Contributor, James Parrish

Comments on: "What’s Your Favorite Scripture?" (1)

  1. It’s hard to pick just one as my favorite! So, I’ll just share my favorite for today:

    Psalm 57:7 My heart is fixed, O God, my heart is fixed: I will sing and give praise.

    No matter what I face in my life, the ups the downs, the joys the sorrows, the honors and the disappointments, when my heart is fixed on God, my sure foundation, my solid rock, then the situations and circumstances of life cannot move me.

Leave a Reply

