Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Testify

I’ve recently had the opportunity to work with several people at church, helping them learn to write a testimony. Most Christians seem to think that their testimony is only the story of their salvation. If you’ve walked with God for any length of time, however, you should have much more of a testimony than that! We need to learn how to testify to God’s goodness, grace, and mercy in our every day lives. If we give Him glory for all of the lessons we learn, then we are much more likely to grow from those lessons!

Here’s a testimony from one of the high school students I was working with. It really blessed me when he told it, so I had him write it down. That way, others can profit from the wisdom he gained!

When I was about 6 years old, I learned a very important lesson. My family went to watch my brother play football over at Rocky Ford park. My parents went to video the game and left my sister in charge. Sister in charge? No way! Stubborn little me decided I wouldn’t stand for that, so I yanked my arm out of her hand and ran off.

I decided to go play on this really big hill, not thinking about all the sharp rocks that were spread out all over the place. What do you think happened? I slipped! My feet went right out from under me and I hit those rocks so hard that I split my knee wide open. I remember thinking, “Oh no! What have I done?” My leg was gushing blood, but I didn’t really feel it. Instead, I was thinking about how badly I was going to catch it from Elyse when I made it back over to the football field. When I walked up to her, she freaked out and ran and got my parents. Needless to say, I ended up in the back of an ambulance and headed to the hospital where I got 24 stitches to sew up that gash.

So, besides a really cool scar, what did I get out of this experience? Well, for one thing, I have a permanent reminder of the consequences of not listening to someone who has been put in charge of me. It didn’t matter that it was my sister, I should have listened to her and done what she said. After all, she was acting on the authority of my parents. When I disobeyed her, I was really being disobedient to my parents. I paid for it and learned a valuable lesson: Do what you’re told and things will go better for you!

“Honor your father and your mother, that your days may be long upon the land which the LORD your God is giving you.” ~ Exodus 20:12

~Guest Contributor, Nathaniel Brannen

So…what’s YOUR testimony??

Leave a Reply

