Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Under Cover

What does it mean to be UNDER COVER?

When you’re under someone else’s cover, they can pray for you in some areas that you can’t even pray for yourself. As someone who is both UNDER spiritual authority and IN spiritual authority, I’ve had the awesome privilege to see it happen from both sides.

I’ve been in situations in my life where I didn’t have the faith to pray for healing, but I had faith in my Apostle – that HE had the authority to command my healing. And because of that faith, I’ve experienced physical healings that doctors can’t explain. I know beyond a shadow of any doubt that I’ve received healings, impartations, wisdom and protection through my spiritual authority that I simply did not have the faith for myself.

I’ve also been in situations where those who had submitted themselves to me have come asking for things they weren’t able to obtain for themselves in the spirit: wisdom, healing, peace of mind, etc. When I pray for those who I have the rule over, there is a power and an authority available that I’ve never been able to tap into for myself (believe me, I’ve tried!).

This is a Biblical principal that often gets overlooked when we think about submission to authority.

Yes, being submitted to another person involves allowing them to tell you what to do and why you’re doing it. But it’s SO MUCH more than that! Putting yourself under the cover of a spiritual authority opens up access to some impartations that you’ll never get otherwise. It gives you access to a whole new level of faith that you can’t have if you’re not submitted to someone – the faith that God will work through someone else on your behalf.

Think about corporate seeking time. When Apostle David calls the entire church to a 40-day fast, there’s a powerful grace available if you’re submitted and have given him the rule over these things in your life. I’ve completed 40-day fasts with the grace imparted through my spiritual covering and I’ve also broken much shorter fasts when I tried to conjure up the grace for on my own.

When you place yourself under the cover of another, you only open up doors of opportunity for God to move mightily in your life. And this amazing principle doesn’t stop there. You also open up doors of opportunity for God to move mightily in your leader’s life too!

Obey them that have the rule over you, and submit yourselves: for they watch for your souls, as they that must give account, that they may do it with joy, and not with grief: for that [is] unprofitable for you.” ~Hebrews 13:17

So, stop thinking of submission to authority as something good for the leader and hard for the follower, and start thinking of it the way God sees it – as profitable for YOU!

~Anessa Back

Comments on: "Under Cover" (1)

  1. connie Robinson said:

    My husband and I are elders in our local church. I have witnessed many times the situations you discussed here. I am very aware that it is only the mercy and goodness of God that I have answers to give those in need. I have done it many times knowing I was only his mouthpiece as I spoke. At the same time, I too always look to leadership for my covering and help when HELP is all I know to say!
    I am always humbled and amazed in both situations! thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

