Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

The Day God Planned

My Saturday started like most others. After going to the woods to check my trail camera, I decided to stop by my Dad’s house to work on my truck before I went out to run some errands. Once I got there, I found out that I had a broken brake line. As I headed to the parts store with my dad, I said, “It’s a good thing it broke when it did, because God knows when it might have happened otherwise.” LIGHT BULB! Immediately, I turned to Dad and said, “God really did know what would have happened!” The whole way to town, all I could think about was how thankful I was that God showed me the broken line when He did.

As I meditated that a little, I realized that God had planned my day from the start. I had “just happened” upon a great big deer when I went out to the woods that morning. We had gone to the grocery store and “just happened” to buy extra pancakes, not knowing we would have an unexpected guest come to spend the night. I “just happened” to decide to stop by Dad’s to work on my truck before running other errands. None of these things were coincidence; God had my day planned for me.

Too many times we overlook little things that happen like this and chalk them up to coincidence or fate. We all need to see God’s hand in our day-to-day lives. Every day can be a great day when we let God plan them out for us!

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  ~Jeremiah 29:11 (NIV)

~by guest contributor, Timothy Hanley

Leave a Reply

