Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Thirsty for God’s Love

But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.

~John 4:14

Jesus was sitting by a well one day when a woman came up to get some water. She was just going about her daily life like she always did, but this day would be different. A few words from Jesus, and she realized that what she had been looking for would never quench her thirst, but what Jesus offered… love and forgiveness of sins… would change her life. Jesus knew that she was living with a man who was not her husband. He knew that she had five husbands before that man. He knew that she had failed in her relationships and was in sin. But He offered her a new chance at life anyway, and she took it.

I can relate to that woman so well. When I first came to this church, I didn’t have a clue about anything. I was just living day-by-day, flowing whichever way the wind blew, because that’s all I knew. I had no focus in my life…no purpose that I could tell. At a very young age, I had already been in more relationships than I like to admit and had my first child when I was still very young. I believed that anyone who messed up so early in life certainly couldn’t have much to look forward to. The best I felt I could do was just hope to make it through each day.

But God had a different plan for me. When I came to Gateway, I had just gotten out of a bad relationship and jumped right into a new relationship, which usually doesn’t work out very well. But this time, my boyfriend brought me to church where I soon learned that God loves me regardless of all the mistakes I’ve made. I realized that my relationship with Him quenches that thirst for love and acceptance that once drove me in the wrong direction. Not only have I learned how to receive God’s love, but I have also learned how to receive true, Godly love from other people. Coming to this “well” has changed my life. I realize I have purpose and that God really cares about my life and my relationships. That boyfriend who brought me here is now my wonderful husband of 12 years and one of the many blessings God has given to me.

We all have our stories and excuses for the reason we are the way we are, but we can’t let those things keep us on the wrong track with the wrong mindset. If we’ll trust Him and act on His word, then we can find His purpose for our life and walk it out. Even though Jesus knew all about that woman at the well and her husbands, He still took the time to speak to her and offer her forgiveness. Jesus knows all my mistakes, but He loves me anyway, has a plan for my life, and has given me purpose. He will do the same for you if you will just trust Him.

~by Guest Contributor  Michelle Parrish

Leave a Reply

