Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

“But the Comforter (Counselor, Helper, Intercessor, Advocate, Strengthener, Standby), the Holy Spirit, Whom the Father will send in My name [in My place, to represent Me and act on My behalf], He will teach you all things. And He will cause you to recall (will remind you of, bring to your remembrance) everything I have told you.” ~ John 14:26 (AMP)

I remember when I first came to Gateway, I didn’t even know who or what Holy Ghost was because I was not raised in any kind of church. I grew up in a family that claimed to be Baptist even though we didn’t attend a church. My mom would always say, “I’m Baptist and I will always be Baptist because that’s what my mama and daddy were!” When I got here, everything was new to me, ESPECIALLY Holy Ghost!!

As I continued to come to church, I still had trouble understanding and comprehending God’s Word. Remember, I was not raised in church or taught the Word at home. I didn’t even know most of the stories of the Bible, much less who Holy Ghost was! As I began to hear more and more about this Holy Ghost, I found myself wanting a part of what everyone was talking about.

One night after church, I was so hungry for God that I knew I had to have Holy Ghost in my life. I told my husband that I wanted to speak with tongues, so he went and got Andy and Stephanie Coker and another couple who took me aside and began to pray with me until I was filled with Holy Ghost. My life has not been the same since!

Because of Holy Ghost’s help, I have more clarity in my life concerning the things of God. Remember how I mentioned having trouble understanding the Word? Well, once I received Holy Ghost and began to pray in tongues, all of that changed and I began to understand and not have confusion on a lot of things. No, I don’t have understanding on everything, but I sure have more than I did without Holy Ghost!

When you get filled with Holy Ghost, you get the Teacher who understands what God’s Word means. He will teach you about the Word, and He will teach you about God’s plan for your life. Trust me, Holy Ghost wants to be a part of everything in your life if you will allow Him to be. Through the years, I have learned how to turn to Him for guidance with my marriage, my children, and my relationships. He helps me know what to say, and to know when to say nothing at all. When I don’t know what to pray, Holy Ghost does. He has been my Counselor and Teacher since 1998, and I would not be who I am today without Him!! I can’t imagine life without Holy Ghost….It’s just NOT an option for me!!!

~by Michelle Parrish

Comments on: "Imagining Life without Holy Ghost….It’s just NOT an option!" (2)

  1. Beautiful! I feel the same!

    • The Celebration said:

      Isn’t He just amazing?!!

      Also wanted to let you know how happy we are that you are blogging again here recently! Enjoy reading your material!!

Leave a Reply

