Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Wake Up to 9/11

It was a late flight back to Atlanta from Seattle, and I was trying desperately to get some sleep. I’ve never been able to sleep on a plane, but knowing I had to be at work early the next morning made it worth a try. Somewhere over Texas we hit some intense thunderstorms. Eerie lightning lit up the sky around Dallas, and I could see the thunderheads looming ominously over that city. As the plane began bumping and jerking with the wind, I stared out the window at the storm, feeling in my spirit that it wasn’t just a natural storm. Something didn’t feel right. I felt as though the city was under attack and I began to pray for the greater Dallas area, in addition to the safety of our plane and all others in the path of the storm. Yeah, I was scared. More than that, I was deeply unsettled, and, try as I might, I couldn’t shake that feeling all the way into Atlanta.

I remember talking to homeroom students the next morning about my rushed weekend trip out West and the crazy storm we weathered on the way home. I walked my kids to their CAMP class, and as I walked back into my classroom, the counselor across the hall from me yelled out, “Oh, My God! An airplane has just crashed into the Twin Towers!” I stood in the doorway for a second and looked at him thinking it was not possible for him to be telling the truth, then I ran to the TV in my classroom and turned it on. It had to have been an accident, right? But how does an airplane lose control like that over a big city? And then, in horror, I watched as the reporter screamed, “Here comes another plane! This is unbelievable!” And there it was… an airplane, a major city, and an attack. I couldn’t move; I could hardly breathe. Glued to the screen, I didn’t even go pick up my students from CAMP. I just watched and cried and prayed.

Can it really be that ten years have passed since that fateful morning when America’s lofty views of impenetrability came toppling to the street at Ground Zero? And what has changed? As a nation, we rallied and prayed; we fought and waved flags… for a season. But have we repented? Have we even considered how the door to the enemy opened wide enough to allow Islamic terrorists to wreck such havoc in our nation? Muslim extremists call the United States “Satan”… they cite our abortion rate, corrupt politicians, vanity, extravagance and waste in our government, idolatry in Hollywood. They say there is no character, no integrity, no cleanliness left in America… are they wrong?

Where is the Church of the Living God, walking in holiness, yielding authority and followed by signs, wonders and miracles? Where are the believers who preach the good news of the gospel of the Kingdom to every nation? Where are the Sons of God who lay down their lives for the sake of the Kingdom? Are we busy lounging in our comfortable seats, watching some creatively stunning illustrated sermons while we slowly slip into the Universalist’s view that many streams lead to the same heaven? The number of Muslims in our nation has doubled since 9/11 while evangelistic, born-again Christians are dwindling. The problem is that we look back on the tragedies of the Towers, the Pentagon, and Shanksville, PA and we commemorate 9/11 as a day when America was attacked. That is deception. America has been under a spiritual attack for decades while the Church has become weak and carnal. That fateful day ten years ago was merely the day the enemy announced his presence to us all by kicking the door wide open. That door is still open and we are still under attack.

“How long will you lie there, you sluggard? When will you get up from your sleep? A little sleep, a little slumber, a little folding of the hands to rest– and poverty will come on you like a bandit and scarcity like an armed man.” – Pro 6:9-11 NIV

We are allowing the enemy to hijack this nation and swing it around, away from the faith that was once delivered to the saints. The Church needs to wake up to 9/11 every day. We have a fight on our hands, an enemy in our midst, and God on our side!

~by Linda Frederick

Leave a Reply

