Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

There is just something different about seeking time this year. I don’t know if it is because we, as a church body, have all been through so much this past year and survived or what it is. We didn’t just survive, but we all became so close as a family…more than we have ever been before. Whether or not that is the reason, I don’t know but something is different in a good way. It’s something to get excited about!

Even though I didn’t do all that I had set out to do this last week, I still managed to do more than I was doing before seeking time. There has been this great peace not to condemn myself for not doing all that I had purposed to do. I spent a lot of time condemning myself in previous years, but not this time. Not that I feel it’s ok that I didn’t do what I set out to do last week, but I know I don’t need to beat myself down because I have tomorrow to try and get it right. I know this new perspective comes from me understanding that God knows my heart, not just my actions. I also have been more sensitive to those checks in my spirit. Knowing myself the way I do, this is really proof that God is already working on me, even though it’s just been a few days!

I am more excited than I have ever been in any other seeking time that I have participated in, and I can’t wait to see all that God has for me and for Gateway!!!  Don’t waste time condemning yourself for falling off the wagon or comparing your seeking time to someone else’s, but as soon as you get that check in your spirit just pick up from there. That’s all God needs is for you to be sensitive to your spirit. Obey your spirit and the changing process can begin.

~Michelle Parrish

Leave a Reply

