Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Let’s talk D.N.A.

DNA might stand for something scientific to you, but for me it always stood for “Daddy Not Available”!

See, I wasn’t raised by my mom and dad, so I didn’t look much like the people I lived with. Because of this, I was often asked the question,”Who do you favor?” This always made me feel uncomfortable, and I didn’t know how to answer. I never really favored anyone in my family.

I have heard when a couple has been together for a long time, they begin to resemble one another. I’m not sure if you can really start to look like someone over time, but have you ever been around an older married couple (like my husband and myself!) who finishes each other’s sentences? As a Christian, that question, “Who do you favor?” no longer irritates me, but challenges me to become more and more like my Heavenly Father. I have a long way to go, but I am believing that the more time I spend with Him, the more I will “favor” Him. Of course, I can spend time with Him because, unlike my natural father, my Heavenly Daddy is ALWAYS available!

All of us, intentionally or not, reflect someone or something. Wouldn’t it stand to reason, then, for us to make a conscious choice as to who or what that is? I choose to strive to be more like my Heavenly Daddy!

As I continue to spend time with Him, I am changing my D.N.A. to stand for “Daddy Now Available!”

~Connie Robinson

Comments on: "Let’s talk D.N.A." (2)

  1. Great article. I never thought of DNA as with my heavenly father. Enjoyed reading it. Job well done.

  2. Connie, what a wonderful take on D.N.A.! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

