Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Mirror, Mirror

How many times have you gotten ready each morning in front of a mirror? Most women do every morning. For those of you who do use a mirror, what do you see? I know what I see, ME! Some days I like what I see and feel good about myself and then there are other days when I cannot stand what I see and then I get discouraged, again. The mirror can play tricks on your mind. I personally think that mirrors are one of the tools that the devil uses to knock people down. You cannot hide your imperfections because they are staring you in the face!

This morning as I was getting ready for church my reflection was speaking volumes. Thoughts infiltrated my mind. Thoughts like, “After working out at the gym for over a year, 5 days a week and you still are not any smaller than when you started. Something is wrong with you.” “What person could possibly want you as a part of their life,” I am sure that none of you have ever had thoughts like that.

Even though my reflection was speaking volumes, I heard, in my spirit, this soft and comforting voice that said, “YOU ARE VALUED! YOU CAN DO THIS AND YOU WILL DO THIS! I LOVE YOU JUST THE WAY YOU ARE!” I have started to realize that it does not matter what I look like, God loves me just the way I am. Now it is time for me to start loving myself the way God does. I am not perfect by any stretch of the imagination and as long as I am doing something to change, that is better than doing nothing to change. It may be a slow process or a fast one but at least I am willing to take the steps to keep the process going. Some people look at the outward shell to determine your worth but God looks on the inside to determine that. We are ALL created in His imagine. The plans He has for me are ALL GOOD. As long as I keep moving and telling myself, “I Love Me!” and “God Loves Me!” it really does not matter what the reflection in the mirror tries to tell me. “For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son…”I am part of this world that God loved so much and so are you. Don’t let your reflection in the mirror tell you that no one can possibly love you due to all of your flaws, shortcomings and mistakes!  Those are lies that the devil wants you to believe. I have started taking steps to change that thought process when I look in the mirror. I CAN DO ALL THINGS THROUGH CHRIST WHO GIVES ME STRENGTH!

~ Ronda Sullivan

Comments on: "Mirror, Mirror" (1)

  1. Thank you for sharing that, Ronda! I really needed to hear that today.

Leave a Reply

