Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Just as I am

I know God accepts me just as I am, but I have a hard time excepting me just as I am. This has been my biggest struggle that I still fight with today. Just knowing that God excepts me doesn’t change me, although this is where it starts. It has to become very real in me, in my heart! I find myself thinking on this more and more lately. I’m sure it’s God trying to get me to deal with it because once I deal with it and face it everyday, then what I am in God’s eyes will start to manifest in my life.  We have really over-rated perfection as Christians. I just read a statement recently that said, “I don’t think it bothers the world that we Christians sin; It bothers the world that we act like we don’t!” We have all been painted a picture in our minds how a Christian should behave or look when, in fact, all God wants is for us to just be real no matter what we look like or what mistake we just made today.

You know we are our biggest enemy. If we can ever get past US, God can really use us in so many areas.

I may still struggle with this today, but because I know that God accepts me, it helps me know that I still have a chance. He will not give up on me no matter how hard-headed I may seem in this area of my life. One step at a time, one day at a time is how change takes place, but remember it is more effective with consistency. We have to be willing to give it to God everyday…everyday!!

I accept myself more today than I did five years ago or even a year ago. It’s a process that I am willing to walk out because I want all God has for me in His Kingdom!!

Don’t seek perfection just seek being real. That’s all God is asking for!!!

 

~ Michelle Parrish

Leave a Reply

