Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

I Can Do It

SINGLE PLANT IN RUSHING WATER
© Michael Keenan | Dreamstime.com

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” ~
 Jeremiah 29:11

There are days that I wish someone would come along and take some of the load off of me or at least help me out so that things would be easier for me to manage. These are the days when I wonder where God is. I’m sure I’m not the only one who has had days like this, right? Our circumstances can really scream at us, causing us to loose focus and to start feeling sorry for ourselves.

Recently, I was meditating the Word, and a picture popped up in my mind of a seed popping up through the ground. Well, I pondered on that picture and wondered why it popped up. I have learned that things do not “pop up” randomly for no reason. So, I tried to figure out what God was trying to tell me.

As I meditated on the seed, I was taken back to my science class where we were taught how a seed begins to sprout and form a plant. The roots come first, spreading and anchoring into the dirt so that the plant is stable. Then the seedling begins to push up through the ground. All the while the root system is still growing and expanding.

Have you ever seen a seed in a garden where it is barely up above the ground and it still has some dirt it needs to push away? I get so excited every year when I plant all of my vegetables and flowers. I mark on my calendar the day I plant and the day when I should see seedlings popping through the ground. I go outside every day to tend to them and watch for them. When I see a seedling that is just barely above the ground, I have to fight the urge to go and help it break through the ground the rest of the way. In trying to help that seedling out, I would actually be hindering it and causing some harm to the plant if I move the dirt out of the way for it. It would continue to grow, but it would not be as strong as it could have been if I had left it alone to push through the obstacle in its way. It is through this process that the plant becomes a strong plant that can stand on its own. I still go out and tend to it, doing what I NEED to do. I just do not jump in and do what the plant needs to do in order to be as strong as it could be.

God was trying to tell me that He is still tending to me and helping me where I need help, but in order for me to become the strong person I need to be, I need to push my way through, trusting in Him to guide me all the way and to support me as I grow. Being bailed out, so to speak, would not help me out in any way. It would actually hinder me from growing up strong in the Lord. I still have people who pray with me and for me. We all need that. We just do not need to be bailed out when the going gets a little tough or rocky. We need to learn to trust in God and His plan for our lives. It is a process and, like all processes, it takes time and patience. Eventually, we push through the obstacles and circumstances. On the other side is VICTORY!

~Ronda Sullivan

Leave a Reply

