Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Reveal the Real

YOUNG GIRL HOLDING A MIRROR
© Ramona Smiers | Dreamstime.com

I know God accepts me just as I am, but I have a hard time accepting myself just as I am. As a matter of fact, I’d have to say that this is my BIGGEST struggle in my walk with the Lord. I always feel like I have to be perfect… or at least closer than I am. In my eyes, I have believed the lie that I am not good enough. Just knowing that God accepts me doesn’t change me. I know it, but do I believe it? I have to change the way I believe about myself and so do you!

I find myself thinking on this more and more lately. I’m sure it’s God trying to get me to deal with it. I know that once I stop rejecting His image of me and start embracing it everyday, then what I am in God’s eyes will start to manifest in my life. In my eyes, I’ve wanted to see myself as perfect. In His eyes, I can see myself as loved.

We have really over-rated perfection as Christians. I just read a statement recently that said, “I don’t think it bothers the world that we Christians sin; It bothers the world that we act like we don’t!” We have all painted a picture in our minds how a Christian should behave or look when, in fact, all God wants is for us to just be real. No matter what we look like or what mistake we just made today, we can keep on going because He accepts and loves us just as we are.

I may still struggle with this today, but I am starting to change. Because I know that God accepts me, it helps me know that I still have a chance. He will not give up on me no matter how hard-headed I may seem in this area of my life! If I say or do something to put myself down, then I have to recognize that and give it to God RIGHT THEN, asking Him to help me see myself the way He sees me. One step at a time, one day at a time is how change takes place. We have to be willing to give our insecurities, fears and self-doubt to God everyday…everyday!!

You know, WE are our biggest enemy. If we can ever get past US, then God can really use us in so many areas. I accept myself more today than I did five years ago or even a year ago. It’s a process that I am willing to walk out because I want all God has for me in His Kingdom!! I am definitely learning not to seek perfection, but to just seek being real. That’s all God is asking for from both you and me!!!

~ Michelle Parrish

Leave a Reply

