Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

MICROSCOPE
© Aleksey Baskakov | Dreamstime.com

The heavens declare the glory of God; And the firmament shows His handiwork.  ~ Psalms 19:1  

 For since the creation of the world His invisible [attributes] are clearly seen, being understood by the things that are made, [even] His eternal power and Godhead, so that they are without excuse, because, although they knew God, they did not glorify [Him] as God, nor were thankful, but became futile in their thoughts, and their foolish hearts were darkened. ~ Romans 1:20-21


Growing up, God’s creation always held me in awe. As a child, I was consumed with a love for animals, but as I matured this passion expanded to a love for science. I was that kid who looked forward to my chemistry and biology classes because they revealed to me even more of my Creator and His creation. I would read books on edible plants and become overwhelmed at the realization of how God has so completely provided for our every need. Looking up at the stars at night just confirmed to me how magnificent, omniscient, and all-powerful my Father is. My experience as a veterinarian and, more recently, as a graduate student in biochemistry and cell biology, has revealed to me the brilliance of the “hidden/microscopic” components of His creation.

I have always been aware that everything God has created shows His majesty. Because of that, science and God have always been inseparable to me. If God reveals Himself through His creation, why wouldn’t one want to unmask the mysteries of His creation to further illuminate the greatness of our God?

Unfortunately, I find very few people in either the Body of Christ or the scientific community who seem to share this view. Most people see science and God as mutually exclusive entities. A great chasm has developed between the church and the scientific community. As a Kingdom Ambassador in the field of science, this rift breaks my heart, and I believe it breaks the heart of God as well.

Why is there such a divide between science and the followers of Christ? Quite honestly, both sides are in the wrong. One side tends to belittle people of intelligence and condemn the use of the many medical and scientific mysteries that God has allowed to be revealed. The other side disdains the concept of faith and a Creator, yet they try to obtain personal fulfillment by understanding how and why they physically exist.

And then there’s me: a man who is passionate for both science and God’s Kingdom. I believe in walking by faith, but I also embrace and recognize the numerous ways God has provided His healing through medical and scientific breakthroughs. My heart aches for the academic scholars of this world, knowing they have been deceived by false doctrines, and that Jesus Christ died for them just as He died for you or me. As an apostolic believer, I have come to recognize that some cures and discoveries are guarded in the spiritual realm by demonic forces and can only be accessed by men and women of God who know how to fulfill their destinies by praying in tongues, dying to themselves through fasting and mortification, and understanding their spiritual authority in Christ.

As His ambassador, God has called me to walk in Kingdom dominion in the scientific and medical communities of this world. I’ve had to learn to rely on Holy Spirit and walk in His wisdom more than ever. As He provides opportunities for me to witness, I do. When there is a chance to be His voice, I’m there. All the while, I strive to allow the gifts and anointings He has placed in my life to draw people to me, building influence within the community to which I’m called. I have truly had to become wise as a serpent and gentle as a dove. Even though I must walk a delicate line at times, I know God has called me into science for a reason. My destiny is to establish Kingdom culture in the medical and scientific worlds and to bridge the chasm between the Body of Christ and the scientific community.

~Dr. Matt

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

