Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Time To Get UP

After my internal alarm clock woke me up on a Monday morning, I rolled over and looked at the clock; it was 6:50 am. Knowing that Triniti and I have to be on the road by 7:20, I knew there was no way that I was going to be able to give both of us showers, dry hair, get dressed, etc in 30 minutes. I quickly woke Triniti up and explained to her to hurry up and get in the shower because we had to be in a hurry because I forgot to set my alarm clock the night before. Of all nights, I also didn’t set her clothes out for the next morning.

I was rushing around gathering her clothes and other supplies needed for the new school week. In the midst of the rushing and silent argument with myself because I forgot to set the alarm, I was trying to motivate her to be in a hurry, which is not an easy task for a five year old. She finally rolled over and looked at me and realized what I was saying about if we didn’t hurry up, we were going to be late for school and work.

With the most beautiful smile and sweet voice, she said, “Mama, it’s ok to be late one day, it’s not the end of the world.”  My body and mind came to a complete halt. I looked over at her and smiled and told her that she was absolutely correct. In the end, we were 15 minutes late, and we certainly lived.

How many times do we get caught up in the little things in life that really doesn’t have any effect on the whole scheme of things?  In the hustle of waking up late, all I could think about was how this was not a good start to a Monday morning. I immediately started thinking about if this was how my Monday started, what was going to go wrong the rest of the week.

It took a five year old to remind me that things were going to be just fine. When I heard her comment, I turned my thoughts around about the week, smiled and thanked the Lord that He put breath in our bodies for the day. Being 15 minutes late did not change the fact that we are blessed nor did it change the outcome of my day. Stop; look around and thank God for the things that He was given us that can be so easily taken for granted.

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him. Colossians 3:17

~Christi Duncan

Image Credit © Tammy Sanders

Leave a Reply

