Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Jeremiah 18:1 As the clay in the potter’s hand, so are you in my hand, O house of Israel.

I have a friend who is a nurse. She told me that pain is my friend. She said it lets me know that there is a problem. I have to disagree. It is not my friend. Another word I don’t care to hitch my wagon to is stress. Some Issues I have been faced with have caused me to be more aware of stress than I care to be. I am thankful that in all we may face, we are never alone. I know I couldn’t make it through these hard places without Jesus. He lets me know He is with me in so many wonderful ways. He sends friends to encourage me. He sends his peace. A scripture may come to mind at just the right time. With all of this, I still complain.

2nd Corinthians 4:7 But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, that the excellency of the power may be of God, and not us.

Earthen vessel to me could be a fancy way to say bucket. I have felt like lately  that I am a bucket with a hole in it. I know there is still much work to be done in me. I have been letting situations I am facing reflect how my attitude has been. I have not been allowing the fruits of the spirit to pour out of me. I usually like to make people laugh. I may tell them a silly story, or a corny joke. I love to see a smile come on someone’s face. It helps me feel better too. This is a small way the Lord uses me. We all have ways to be a vessel that God can use.  We must guard our hearts and minds. The enemy will try and cause us not to use whatever the talent is God has given us. He likes to keep us focused on the negative. I am determined to allow God to mold me into a vessel to be used however He may choose. A hole in a bucket can make the light shine out of it brighter, right?

2nd Timothy 2:21 If a man therefore purge himself from these, he shall be a vessel unto honour, sanctified, and meet for the master’s use and prepared unto every good work.

~Connie Robinson

Image Credit @ Tammy Sanders

Leave a Reply

