Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Graduating

 

This time of year many students are graduating. Some from elementary to middle school, others from middle school to high school. After high school, some will go to a technical school, business school, or go to  college. As parents it brings joy to see our children growing and learning. They are maturing in knowledge, understanding, and wisdom. Not all children learn on the same level.

I remember my brother Al, he was two years younger. He was a straight A student. I would struggle to make C’s. I always dreaded report cards. We would get 50 cents for A’s and a quarter for B’s. If I was lucky I might get fifty or seventy-five cents. Al would clean up usually getting $2.50. I would try harder, but I never attained the $2.50.

I have grown in understanding and wisdom over the years. When I was young I would get discouraged, comparing myself to others. It’s the same way living a Christian life. We have all been caught up in comparing our walk with the Lord against our brothers and sisters in Christ. The Apostle Paul wrote; “For we dare not make ourselves of the number, or compare ourselves with some that commend themselves: but they measuring themsleves by themselves, and comparing themselves among themselves, are not wise.” 2 Corinthians 10:12

It’s human nature to be competitive. We all should be striving to come to maturity in Christ. It should be the goal of every Christian to be Christ like. Satan loves to bring discouragement and condemnation to every believer. We shouldn’t be ignorant of his devices. The Lord has created each one of us individually. We are unique in design and purpose.

He is a proud father of all his children, no matter what level we have attained unto. The Holy Spirit is at work in our lives to bring forth His nature in us. We all should be striving to attain the prize of the high calling in Christ Jesus. Knowing that one day we will all be graduation to the praise of His glory. I encourage you to keep going and growing.

~Ricky Robinson

Image Credit © Tammy Sanders

Leave a Reply

