Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Let me begin by saying that this is a bona-fide true story. I even have a witness! One of my friends and I were driving in to church, in separate cars. There was no traffic on this particular country road at 8:45 in the morning. My friend was in the car ahead of me and we were trucking along, till all of a sudden my friend begins to slow down and stop in the middle of the road.

Living in a large metropolitan city, I am use to random traffic accidents or congestion. However, dealing with traffic first thing on a Sunday morning in the middle of the country was a bit annoying. Then I saw them. There was no mistaking what I was seeing. Two tall eliptical, furry ears were poking out from above the silhoutte of my friend’s car. Those ears could only belong to one animal…a donkey! You heard me right, there was a random donkey just standing in the middle of the road looking at my friend and I!

My friend waited for the donkey to move, but it was content just to stand there. It was not until she tried to go around the beast of burden that the jackass decided to meander off the road and up someone’s driveway. Maybe it lived there, or just wanted to go visit someone new, we still don’t know.

In spite of the hilarity of what had happened, I could not help but think about the story of Balaam and the talking donkey in the Bible. Balaam was going out to disobey God and curse the people of Israel. God had sent an angel to stop and destroy him. But for his donkey…Balaam would have died that day. However, because of the stubborness and refusal of the donkey to move when it saw the angel of God standing with a drawn sword, Balaam repented and his life was spared.

Now whether or not our donkey in the road saved our lives, we have no idea, most likely not. But how often do people or other obstacles appear to get in our way and force us to stop what we’re doing. They may appear to be jackasses in the road, but maybe they are a warning sign for what’s ahead, especially if you are walking in disobedience to God. Finding out why the donkey is crossing the road could save your life. So next time, take a minute to contemplate if the jackass that is annoying you could be the very thing God has sent to spare you from imminent grief, suffering, or destruction. Do you need to repent? Something to think about.

~Dr. Matt

Image Credit © Tammy Sanders

Leave a Reply

