Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Falling Into Memories

~Ecclesiastes 3:1 “To everything there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven.”

I love fall. October is my favorite month. I am not into witches and goblins. I do not celebrate Halloween. I do not judge those who do. We have the freedom to choose what is right for us. I enjoy the feeling of crisp weather. I am surrounded by sun loving friends who mourn when the time comes to put the flip flops and sunscreen away. They love the sun and the scorching days of summer. I am not one of them.

I am a cool weather kind of gal. To me, October is a much nicer time. The earth seems to slow down a little. It almost feels as if the world as entered into a resting time. People seem to not hurry as much. Families stay home more. Heartier meals are prepared. Families begin to plan for the holidays ahead, You will hear folks share memories of times gone by. They gather around tables they didn’t see as much of in the summer months. New memories are made.

The word October means the number eight. Some say it is derived from the latin word “Octo.”  Eight is the number of new beginnings. That explains my feelings on this month perfectly.

My grandma raised my brother and me. I remember the wonderful aromas of her cakes coming from her kitchen. The cake pans were put away during the warmer months. I guess that was due to us not having air conditioning in our home. She enjoyed making cakes when the weather began to cool down. I also remember nights of us gathering around to play games. The kids and adults alike would join in the fun. We played checkers, jack rocks, and various card games. Those are some of my fondest childhood memories.

Now, I am a grandma myself. My husband and I have spent many wonderful hours teaching our grandkids to enjoy the simple things. Rocks make great hidden treasures. We use books and cards to build houses and forts. We play checkers with the older kids. We use them to help teach the younger ones to count. I hope that someday, they will teach their kids how to enjoy the simple things. Maybe when they do, they will think of me. Take advantage of this time of year. It is a great time to reconnect with family. Try and slow down the pace a little. TV, video games, and computers can drown out conversations. There are things we can do together that will also allow us to talk at the same time we enjoy doing them. God gave us this amazing journey called life. His wonderful creation of the seasons is ours to enjoy. Our lives, like the seasons, are full of purpose. Happy falling into memories to you!

~Connie Robinson

Image Credit © Aneta Blaszczyk via sxc.hu

Leave a Reply

