Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Giving

“God loveth a cheerful giver.”~ 2 Cor. 9:7  Apostle Paul was exhorting the church to be givers. In life there are two types of people. Givers and takers. From my childhood I was taught to be a giver. My parents were givers and led by example. When my father got paid he always made a budget list. At the top of his list was his tithe and offerings to God. We were a large family and money was tight. We never lacked for anything because God was faithful to provide.

My wife and I got married. We were tithers and never lacked for anything. Trusting God to provide is not always easy. I remember a time I thought I couldn’t afford to pay my tithes. I was lacking faith in God to provide for my family. My wife got sick, had to go to the doctor and get a prescription. It ended up costing exactly what my tithes were. I repented for not trusting God and from then on I have always given.You can’t out give God. All He asked of us is to have faith in Him. I heard a brother in Christ put it this way. All God asks for is ten cents out of a dollar. He said, “God couldn’t buy a candybar for a dime.” Put simply, a light bulb came on. Father, why can’t I trust You, the creator of Heaven and earth with my finances? When we give our tithes and offerings to the Lord it’s saying, Father, why can’t  I trust you to take care of me.” One of my favorite verses is, “Give, and it shall be given unto you; good measure, pressed down, and shaken together, and running over, shall men give into your bosom. For with the same measure that ye mete withal it shall be measured to you again.” Luke 6:38.

I challenge you to become a giver. The Lord is faithful to prove his Word.

~Ricky Robinson

Image Credit © Giving Hands  sanja gjenero via sxc. hu

Leave a Reply

