Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Are You Justified?

When we get into trouble or called into question about our actions, how do we respond? Usually we try to justify what we did. We play the blame game. The reason I did so-and-so is because… then the lists starts. My wife says I  never take responsibility for anything. Most of the time she is right.

We were going to North Carolina for a visit. Traveling 85 North. You know how it is, drive as fast as you can without getting caught. I was driving in the fast left hand lane. They have signs posted saying, ” Slower Traffic Keep Right”. I was driving 80 mph in a 70 mph speed zone. There was a group of cars right behind me. We were all making good time. There’s always one slow car holding up the world.

I flashed my lights. For you who do not know, that means move over to the slower lane, and let me go. I know no one does this, but I started talking out loud. “Why don’t they move over to the right? They are blocking the fast lane. Don’t they know the law, slower traffic keep right?

Then my wife says, “You’re doing 80 mph. Slow down. You’re breaking the law.” Of course, we had a heated debate on who was breaking the law. I tried to justify my fast driving. The other cars on my bumper were doing it. Everybody was driving fast except this one “Idiot” in the wrong lane. The more I talked, the deeper the hole I dug.

I guess it’s human nature. Adam blamed God and Eve blamed satan the serpent. When the dust settled, Adam, Eve, and  satan were guilty. God held them accountable for their own actions. That’s the bottom line. We are all responsible for our own actions, words, and deeds. One day we will stand before the righteous judge. If we haven’t recieved Jesus as our Savior, there will be no way to justify ourselves. Ask Him into your heart today. “Therefore being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ.” ~Romans 5:1

~Ricky Robinson

Image Credit © Gavel 2 Jason Morrison via sxc.hu

Leave a Reply

