Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

A Heart for Humanity

  These words have been burning in me for a few days now, and I can’t get away from it. Give us a heart for the downtrodden, poor, depressed, brokenhearted, and sick, oh Lord. Let us not just look and then turn away in disgust. Going right back to our comfortable lives, not giving it another thought. Let us be compelled to move, to act in Your name. Bringing hope, healing, and deliverance to those in need.

This is my heart’s cry. I’ve always been compassionate, but I haven’t really done much. I haven’t taken time out of my weekend to go and minister to the hurting. I have prayed for them, but they haven’t remained at the forefront of my mind. If you’re being honest with yourself, you’ve neglected to care, too. What am I going to do about it? What are you going to do about it? What the Church has been doing isn’t enough. God said to “Go into all the world and preach the gospel.” Go is a command. What Jesus said wasn’t optional. Every person has a responsibility to carry the good news to those around them.

Jesus went when the crowds thronged him. He went when He was tired. He prayed, even when the disciples fell asleep. He had a heart for humanity. Oh, how I long to be more like Him! I will warn you. It won’t be comfortable. You may even be awakened out of your sleep to pray. Will you do it? Will you risk being uncomfortable for a few hours in order to pursue Him?

When you truly have a heart for something. You won’t let anything stop you.  We as Christians have to stop making excuses and really examine what we are doing. Quit lying to yourself and get real about things, please. We ALL need to pray that God softens our hearts towards others. In today’s society, it’s all about me, me, me. I want my food, and I want it now! I can’t stand to be cold! In order to really reach people, we have to shift our focus. Oh, God, let us love as you love. Open our eyes so we can truly see people. Past their brokenness, sins, insecurities, and faults. Give us a heart for humanity.

~Madison Sanders

Image Credit: © A boy and a window Irenaeus Herwindo via sxc.hu

Leave a Reply

