Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Up or Down?

~Jonah 2:7 “When my soul fainted within me I remembered the Lord.” The word soul refers to our mind, will, emotions, and our intellect. When someone told me they were depressed I just couldn’t relate to what they were saying. I was a happy, peaceful, and contented person. Sure I had problems and trials, but mentally I had it together. It seemed like no matter what I faced I was able to overcome it.

Then came April 22, 2000. On the 19th, I had turned 50. We had celebrated my birthday with family and friends. Everyone joked about me getting older and over the hill. I took it all in stride.

Fifty was just a number. I felt great physically and mentally. I woke up around 5;00 AM. on the 22nd. with chest pains. Surely it was just indigestion. After getting up and drinking some water it went away. I went back to sleep only to be awaken by more chest pains. Reality begin to set in. I went to the hospital.

My world got turned upside down. I lay on my back in intensive care. I had a heart catherisation done to find I had a blockage. After six days they released me to go home. My whole lifestyle changed.

I was now a member of the Heart Club, having to take medications to live. I felt weak and vulnerable, depression begun to set in. I said,”So, this is what depression feels like”.

My mind was in turmoil. All of these thoughts of dispair and hopelessness bombarded me. I tried to pray, read the Bible, and listen to music. You name it and I tried it. I was in a funk, going in circles. There had to be an answer.

There was, and there is a way out. I had to have help not only from God, but the Body of Christ. I had always been self-sufficient only depending on my abilities. I asked for help and help came from others.

We need each other. When one member suffers we need to have love and compassion. Not just avoiding them or speaking some religious cliche’.It took time and help from others, but I overcame depression. Remember God is faithful, who will not suffer you to be tempted above that ye are able; but will with the temptation make a way to escape, that ye may be able to bear it. ~1 Corinthians10:13

~ Ricky Robinson

Image Credit © Tammy Sanders

– See more at: http://www.gatewaybelievers.com/articles/or-down#sthash.bsxfu9ek.dpuf

Leave a Reply

