Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

BibleWonderland08-Giant“And there we saw the giants, the sons of Anak, which come of the giants: and we were in our own sight as grasshoppers, and so we were in their sight.” – Num 13:33

My kids and I went to see Into the Woods last night (smash Broadway hit turned blockbuster film that pokes fun at fairy tales and happily ever afters), and I have the song “Giants in the Sky” stuck in my head now. Before I drifted off to sleep last night, I found myself thinking about “giants” in general. Giants in every movie I can think of are either big, scary, horrifying and dumb or big, scary, endearing and dumb. Either way, they are killed, driven off or tamed by some very small, seemingly powerless hero who just chops down a beanstalk or picks up a slingshot. When it comes down to it, giants are never really what they seem, are they?

Think about it…when it came time for the children of Israel to possess the land of promise, a group of 12 spies snuck into the land to scout it out for 40 days. For 40 days, they travelled, ate, slept and took some “spoils” as part of their scouting mission. In the end, ten of the spies claimed the land could not be taken because of the giants who lived there. I think what Joshua and Caleb really meant to say to those spies was this…

“Wait a minute… we just lived there for 40 days. We snuck around camping and chopping down grapes right under those giants’ noses for 40 days and they didn’t do anything to us! They couldn’t stop 12 of us, and you think they can stop millions? The only power those giants have over us is the perception we have of them…otherwise, they can’t stop us from our mission unless YOU decide not to try it. We can do this thing!”

Joshua and Caleb knew that, even though giants were present, the mission could still succeed.

Whoa. What about the giants in my life? Fear of failure, hopelessness, worry, doubt, stress…What about all of those things that have been intimidating me, stomping around in my emotions crying, “Fee, fi, fo, fum!” I’ve let those giants stop me from possessing my land, just because they look big and scary. They only have the power over me that I give them. They are not what they appear!

Where’s my slingshot? It’s here: the confession of my faith that comes from God’s Word…

Greater is He who is in me than he who is in the world…zing!

My God always leads me in triumph through Christ Jesus…zing!

Christ has made me more than a conqueror…zing!

He who has begun a good work in me will complete it until the Day of Jesus Christ…zing!

I am well able to go up and take this land at once…zing! 

What giant are you letting stop you? You can borrow my slingshot anytime!

~Linda Frederick

Comments on: "There are Giants in the Sky" (1)

  1. I will take that slingshot now, please.

Leave a Reply

