Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Fresh Bread

~John 6:51 says, “I am the living bread which came down from heaven: If any man eat of the bread, he shall live for ever: and the bread that I will give is My flesh , which I will give for the life of the world.”

~Psalms 5:3 says, “My voice shalt thou hear in the morning, O Lord; in the morning I will direct my prayer unto thee, and will look up.”

I have a confession to make. I do not like leftovers. That may make me a bit of a food snob. The same meal I delighted in the day before I will most likely leave on my plate today. I think we should develop that attitude in our spiritual life.

Once a pastor asked me during a church service what I sensed the Lord was speaking to my heart. I shared that I felt that God was saying He did not want His church to live on canned biscuits. What does this mean? He wants us to enjoy fresh bread. This is spiritually speaking. The Lord always has a fresh word for us. Think about a canned biscuit. They will do in a rush. It will keep us from starving. A canned biscuit will sustain us for awhile.

Now think about the smell of fresh baked bread. It has just come out of the oven. That is much more satisfying. It will give us more nourishment and strength. An example of this would be if our only testimony begins with, ” I remember back in 1998 when the Lord showed me something.” Please do not misunderstand. It is wonderful that God has moved in our past. That is what brought us this far. The problem comes when that is where we had our last experience with Him.

Do we take time to hear from Him now? Do we have a fresh word? I am thankful for every touch, miracle, and moment I have experience with God. They are priceless to me. I love to share the wonderful things that He has done. I also love to hear about what He has done in the lives of others. But we are not growing if our whole spiritual life consists of what happened way back then. We  must have fresh bread to grow. We gain strength by spending time in Gods presence. Our faith is built up when we partake of Him every day. There are times when we share the blessings of our spiritual journey. We also must be sure that we are still  growing in this amazing life that we have in God each day. Don’t you just love that fresh bread?

~Connie Robinson

Image Credit Homemade Walnut Bread © Bev Lloyd-Roberts LRPS via free image.com

– See more at: http://www.gatewaybelievers.com/articles/fresh-bread#sthash.rAmTmFTA.dpuf

Leave a Reply

