Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

What Does it Mean?

What does it mean to be on fire for Jesus? This is a phrase we hear a lot in Christian circles. While playing “Soul on Fire” by Third Day, I found myself having a conversation about this very thing with my oldest nephew, who is almost four.

I decided to look up the definition of burn. Some of my favorite definitions are: “To emit heat or light by fire or energy.  To cause a strong impression, especially by emotional intensity.

To be consumed with strong emotion, especially:

To be very eager.”

I told my nephew that burning for Jesus had nothing to do with actual fire. It really means that we should be excited to tell others about Jesus. In a typical toddler fashion, he asked, “Why?”

I said, “We are supposed to be a light to everyone whether we are at school or church.”

“Why?”

“Because there are some kids who only know meanness and bad things. They never see anything good. That’s why we have to be that light to them and burn bright for Jesus.”

Now is not the time for catchy phrases. If you are saying, “I want to be on fire for Jesus” just to say it, just stop. Like the definitions say, we need people who are eager. We need people who have something to give. We need people who recognize the seriousness of this hour. We need people who are consumed by Jesus, letting Him direct their path.

The words to Third Day’s song are still echoing in my heart.

“Lord, restore the joy I had
I have wandered, bring me back
In this darkness, lead me through
Until all I see is You

Lord, let me burn for You again
Let me return to You again
And Lord, let me burn for You again
And let me return to You again.” 

We all have wandered away from Jesus at sometime or another. I want to burn for Jesus again, again, and again. I don’t want my flame to go out. People are counting on us. Right this moment, there are thousands of people who have no hope. Their light has been snuffed out. They have no joy. They don’t think they can make it another day.

What will you do? Will you take time to pray? Will you ask God to give you His heart?

Is your fire bright enough that it leads others to Jesus? If not, take time right now to do a self-evaluation. In order to burn for Jesus, you have to do something different. One way to stir up your fire is by praying in tongues. Prayer helps you to know God’s heart and prepare you to help other people. God will give you the words to say. Get ready to burn for Jesus like never before!

~Madison Sanders

Image Credit: Mr CoolGuy © Crystal Fithen via freeimages.com

Leave a Reply

