Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Becoming of Age

~1st Corinthians 13:11 “When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child; but when I became a man, I put away childish things.”

Coming of age is a term used for the transition period of a person going from childhood to an adult. The age in which that is recognized has many factors. It is based on the culture of the individual. Religious beliefs and traditions also play a vital part. Certain ceremonies usually take place to signify this passage. Whatever the practice, the meaning is that this individual is now stepping into the role of an adult.

When I was a child, I could not wait to be grown. I looked forward to my day of independence. I saw it as being free to do anything I wanted. Once this magical adulthood became reality, I realized that there was much more involved. With this newfound freedom came responsibility. I would now have to discipline myself.

I had an older friend named Ruby, She became a Christian many years before I did.  Ruby is now in Heaven. The things she taught me still help me today. She was a wonderful mentor. I desire to be like her. I learned that she had much discipline in her walk with the Lord. She studied the Word. She was a prayer warrior. As a young person, I thought that Ruby was naturally like that because she was a seasoned Christian. As I grew older, I realized the price she had paid to be the mature, strong woman of God she was.

The maturing process can only take place as it is walked out in the person’s life. The  same is true in our spiritual walk. We should strive to be spiritually mature. Our lives should reflect growth. I personally do not think anyone should feel that they are complete in this process. I am convinced that there will always be amazing things in Christ that we have yet to experience. Eternity is filled with greater depths and higher heights. I like to think that Ruby would be proud of me today. I also realize that I have much more growing to accomplish.

~Connie Robinson

 

Image Credit  Mum 2© Gabriella Fabbri  via freeimages.com

– See more at: http://www.gatewaybelievers.com/articles/becoming-age#sthash.psDHqimI.dpuf

Leave a Reply

