Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

Faith or Fear?

We used to sing a song, “Whose report will you believe?” The answer was; “We will believe the report of the Lord.” With news being available 24/7, we get bombarded with a lot of fearful news reports. We have friends, loved ones, and ourselves receiving negative medical reports. It’s natural to have some fear when we face these situations. At times such as these, we have to make a choice to have faith in God or not.

As Christians we have to listen to the voice of the Holy Spirit. God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power, and love, and of a sound mind. ~ 2 Timothy 1:7

I know what it feels like to live in fear and depression. In 2000, I turned fifty and had a heart attack a few days later. Up until this time in my life I was always upbeat and had a positive attitude. I had a close relationship with the Lord and believed His word. All of a sudden I had a dreadful outlook about everything. I knew what the Bible said, I listened to good singing and preaching, but I couldn’t shake depression and fear. I was constantly being bombarded with thoughts of dread and fear. I couldn’t sleep. I would lie awake with my mind racing with all kind of negative thoughts. Depression, anxiety, and fear are real. I couldn’t seem to get a breakthrough. As Christians, we sometimes put up a facade that everything is great. We don’t want people to know we are under attack.

The Bible warns us not to be ignorant of satan’s devices. He uses pride, self-sufficiency, and isolation to gain advantage over us. We need each other to overcome trials, troubles, and temptations. The only way to get a break through sometimes is to ask for help and prayer from the Body of Christ.

I had to be honest and open with my brothers and sisters about what I was going through. We need each other, so much more as we see the day of Jesus’ return approaching. We are living in perilous times. It’s a time to come together in the power of agreement. We need to lift each other up in prayer before the Lord.

Don’t try living life in isolation. Be open and a caring member of the Church. United we stand and divided we fall. Let’s learn to lean on the Lord and each other. Read Ecclesiastes 4:9-12

~ Ricky Robinson

Image Credit Latest News © Lotus Head via freeimages.com

– See more at: http://www.gatewaybelievers.com/articles/faith-or-fear-0#sthash.qWAEB7ht.dpuf

Leave a Reply

