Real Church. Real Life. Real Celebration.

I was watching Disney’s The Lion King with my kids and got a revelation about The Kingdom. No, not the “Magic Kingdom;” God’s Kingdom! In the beginning of the movie, the little lion cub, Simba, was trying to wake up his father, Mufasa, the king. Mufasa had promised Simba that he would show him the kingdom, and Simba just couldn’t wait to see it. I started thinking that we really should be more like that little lion. I mean, how many times have we put forth that much effort to get our Father God, The King, to show us His Kingdom? I don’t know about you, but not too many times on my end! I started thinking, “God is trying to wake us up, not just to see the Kingdom, but to operate in it!!”

In the next scene of the movie, Mufasa and Simba are standing on the highest cliff in the kingdom. Mufasa begins telling Simba how a king’s time rises and sets like the sun, and when he dies, Simba will be the ruler of the kingdom. Now, God doesn’t die, but He sent His Son, Jesus to die for us so that we would be the rulers of His Kingdom. Mufasa went on to explain to Simba about the boundaries of the kingdom, saying, “Everything the light touches is our kingdom.” Think about that for a minute…. When you turn on a flashlight, what do you see? You see everything the light touches: everything within that circle of light. Well, if we are the light of the world, then everything our light touches should be our kingdom.

Simba goes on to ask his father, “What about the shadowy place?” His father responds saying, “ That’s beyond our borders. You must never go there!” How many times have we questioned God about our boundaries? God has told us, “Everything the light touches is your kingdom: your place of liberty and freedom in Christ.” What do we want? Like Simba, we want to go check out the “shadowy place” outside of the boundaries. We want to operate outside of our place of liberty and anointing.

God has provided everything you need within your boundaries. During this seeking time, God has shown me more of my kingdom…my place of liberty and freedom in Christ. In the process, he has been teaching me how to operate in my kingdom and how it’s a part of His Kingdom!

What about you? Are you learning how to live in your kingdom of light, or are you still trying to visit the “shadowy places”?

~Guest contributor, Fred Mitchell

Leave a comment